Violetta “Letty” Halpert Paper Prize

You are here

Home < Awards < Violetta “Letty” Halpert Paper Prize

This award commemorates Violetta (Letty) Maloney Halpert (1919–2009) and her significant contributions to the field of folklore in Canada. Halpert was instrumental in founding Memorial University’s Folklore and Language Archive (MUNFLA) and in building the university’s world-class library holdings in folklore studies. The prize is awarded for the best student paper presented at our annual conference. The winner will receive a $250 cash prize plus a 3-year membership of FSAC. To enter your paper for this prize, please submit the full written text (max. 3,000 words) in .doc or .docx format by May, 1, 2024. To be eligible, you must have presented the paper yourself. Please note that only the text of the paper will be evaluated. Send applications with the subject line "Violetta "Letty" Halpert Paper Prize" to Dr. John Bodner, Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC:


Award winners


2021 : Roshni Caputo-Nimbark (Memorial University)

2020: Hélène Bernadot (Université Laval)

2019: Benoit Vaillancourt (Université Laval)

2018: Ben Staple (Memorial University)

2017: Saeedeh Niktab Etaati (Memorial University)

2016: Gesa Bierwerth (Université Laval)

Recipients of the Violetta “Letty” Halpert Paper Prize

  • 2016 – Gesa Bierwerth (Université Laval)
  • 2015 – Claudia Prévost (Université Laval)
  • 2014 – Marie-Pier Anctil-Corneau (Université Laval)
  • 2013 – Liyanna Fauzi et Marcie Fehr (University of Winnipeg)
  • 2012 – Kendra Magnus-Johnston (University of Manitoba)