Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship

You are here

Home < Awards < Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship

Date of Award : At FSAC’s Annual Meeting
Deadline for Nomination : May 1st of the award year
Nominations to be sent to : The acting Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC

Since 1990, the Folklore Studies Association of Canada (FSAC) has established the Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship Fund. The scholarship commemorates Luc Lacourcière, professor and a pioneer in the advancement of the field of folklore in Canada and abroad. Luc Lacourcière was appointed to the first chair in Folklore ever established in Canada.

The scholarship which consists of the fund’s interest, is awarded to the best student, member of FSAC,  in aspects of ethnology or folklore studies. The student must have completed her or his first year of graduate studies at a Canadian university and still be enrolled in school in this discipline.

The nominations has to be sent to the Secretary-Treasurer by the student and must contain a letter from the a faculty member familiar with the student’s work, grades, comments from the student’s department and/or other faculty, and a curriculum vitae. The Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC receives the nominations which are submitted to the Executive. The decision is announced at the FSAC’s Annual General Meeting or shortly after.

The 2017 scholarship winner

Jennifer Boivin (University of Alberta)

Recipients of the Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship

  • 2016 – Gesa Bierwerth (Ethnologie et patrimoine, Université Laval)
  • 2014 – Kayla Carroll (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland) et Marie-Pier Anctil-Corneau (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2013 – Mathilde Lamothe (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2012 – Valérie Vachon-Bellavance (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2011 – Saeedeh Sadigh Jamali (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2010 – Carmen d’Entremont (Études françaises, Université de Moncton)
  • 2009 – Candace Froebe (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2008 – Virginia Fugarino (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2007 – Catherine Arsenault (Ethnologie, Université Laval) ; Maureen Power (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2006 – Jocelyn Gadbois (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2005 – Christine Bricault (Ethnologie, Université Laval) ; Amber Ridington (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2004 – Geneviève St-Jacques Thériault (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2003 – Kate Bride (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2002 – Gisèle Bouchard (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 2001 – Anne Lafferty (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 2000 – Joy Fraser (Folklore, MUN) ; Karine Laviolette (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 1999 – Madeleine Pastinelli (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 1998 – Maggy Bernier (Ethnologie, Université Laval)
  • 1997 – Lara Maynard (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 1996 – Kieran Walsh (Folklore, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • 1995 – Not awarded
  • 1994 – Christopher E. Lewis
  • 1993First awardee : Anne-Hélène Kerbiriou (Ethnologie, Université Laval)