Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

La revue Ethnologies

Discover the latest issues of Ethnologies

Dernière parution

Current Issue

Prizes and Fellowships

The Marius Barbeau Medal


Date of Award : At FSAC’s Annual Meeting


Deadline for nomination : January 15.


Nominations to be sent to : The President-Elect of FSAC


Since 1978, the Folklore Studies Association of Canada (FSAC) has given an award in recognition of a remarkable contribution to folklore and ethnology. In 1985, the Distinguished Canadian Folklorist Award was changed to the Marius Barbeau Medal in honor of a great folklorist. The medal may be given for work in the field of teaching, research and communication. The President-Elect of FSAC receives nominations for the Medal which are submitted to the Executive who designates the recipient for the year in question.


2016 Marius Barbeau medalist:

Laurier Turgeon


Other years Marius Barbeau Medalists

(Details concerning the awardees may be found in the corresponding yearly issue of the Bulletin of the FSAC).



The Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship


Date of Award : At FSAC’s Annual Meeting


Deadline for Nomination : May 1st of the award year


Nominations to be sent to : The acting Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC


Since 1990, the Folklore Studies Association of Canada (FSAC) has established the Luc Lacourcière Memorial Scholarship Fund. The scholarship commemorates Luc Lacourcière, professor and a pioneer in the advancement of the field of folklore in Canada and abroad. Luc Lacourcière was appointed to the first chair in Folklore ever established in Canada.


The scholarship which consists of the fund’s interest, is awarded to the best student, member of FSAC,  in aspects of ethnology or folklore studies. The student must have completed her or his first year of graduate studies at a Canadian university and still be enrolled in school in this discipline.


The nominations has to be sent to the Secretary-Treasurer by the student and must contain a letter from the a faculty member familiar with the student’s work, grades, comments from the student’s department and/or other faculty, and a curriculum vitae. The Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC receives the nominations which are submitted to the Executive. The decision is announced at the FSAC’s Annual General Meeting or shortly after.


The 2016 scholarship winner is:

Gesa Bierwerth (Ethnologie, Université Laval)


Other years scholarship winners



The Violetta “Letty” Halpert Paper Prize

The Violetta (Letty) Halpert Award is given to the best student paper delivered at the annual conference of the Folklore Studies Association of Canada. The text, of no more than 3000 words, must be sent in .doc  format to the Secretary-Treasurer of FSAC By 6 P.M. local time on the first day of the conference, before it is presented.


The Secretary-Treasurer will distribute hardcopies and digital copies to the executive for adjudication.


In order to be confirmed as a winner, the paper must actually be presented at the conference by its writer, the award recipient. Recipients will be announced, and contacted, no later than 1 (one) month from the first day of that year’s conference. The recipient will receive a $250.00 cash prize, as well as a 3 year membership to the association.


Please notice that only the text of the paper will be evaluated.


About Violetta (Letty) Halpert:


Violetta (Letty) Maloney Halpert was the 2009 recipient of the Marius Barbeau Medal in recognition of her significant contribution to the field of Canadian Folklore/Ethnology in general, and to the Department of Folklore at Memorial University in particular. She graduated with a BA in English from Wilson College and an MA from Indiana University. She completed additional graduate work in Folklore, studying with Stith Thompson and George Herzog.


In no small part due to the dedication and hard work of Letty Halpert over four decades, Memorial University boasts a world class folklore library and a nationally recognized folklore archive. In 1963 Violetta Halpert joined the Acquisitions Department of Memorial University library, serving as its Head for several years before resigning in 1969. As Head of Acquisitions and later as Collections Specialist, she was largely responsible for developing the library’s holdings in several areas that today are considered Memorial’s strengths: Folklore, American Literature, Linguistics, Anthropology and Irish Studies. It is largely due to her efforts, together with those of her husband, that Memorial’s folklore collection became the best in Canada. In recent years, Letty has continued to build Memorial’s holdings through the donation of the Halpert’s personal library, which is perhaps the finest personal folklore library in the world.


As a Research Associate with the Folklore Department, Letty Halpert was instrumental to the founding of the Memorial University Folklore and Language Archive and setting its direction. Even before MUNFLA’s establishment in 1968, Letty began to develop and annotate the student materials that form the basis of the archive’s collection. Letty undauntedly took the lead on the cataloging of archival materials and her precision and thoroughness as a cataloguer set the tone for future work. Gerald Thomas and John Widdowson described the importance of Letty’s extensive contribution to MUNFLA: “[Letty and Herbert Halpert] devised and refined a comprehensive classification of genres of folklore….The classification not only contributed to the structure of folklore courses taught at Memorial, but also formed the basis for systems of accessioning and data retrieval in MUNFLA. Indeed, in the early years of the folklore programme at Memorial, the Halperts painstakingly and systematically discussed with individual students the materials they had submitted as coursework, adding annotations before assigning the data to the appropriate archive category. The classification has proved invaluable in helping students and other researchers to identify and explore major and minor aspects of their own culture….” (1991:xiv).


[Note: Letty Halper passed away 30 May 2009.]


The 2016 award winner is :

Gesa Bierwerth (Ethnologie, Université Laval)


Other years award winners

Top of page